Skip to main content

Moving from Sensei

If you bought Sensei for its monitors, keep it. macleanup has no menu bar gauges, no S.M.A.R.T. health and no benchmarks. It replaces the cleaning tab and the uninstaller, and it tells you what each run moved or removed.

What maps to what​

In SenseiIn macleanup
Old caches and system logsSections 5, 6 and 7
Large downloadsSection 18, as a report
Leftover installation filesSection 15, as a report
UninstallerSection 21
CPU, GPU, battery and thermal monitorsSection 0 is a one-time text snapshot, not a monitor

Move across​

  1. Get the reports first. They delete nothing.

    npx macleanup --only "0,15,18"
  2. Preview the safe batch. It never selects a deep section.

    npx macleanup --dry-run --all
  3. Run logs alone. Sudo is needed for the system-log part; with --no-sudo, that part is skipped and never half-run.

    npx macleanup --only 7 --no-sudo
  4. Read the session summary. It counts attempted, completed, skipped and failed separately: Reports and logs.

The facts, dated​

Last checked . Check Sensei yourself

Sensei planPriceSource
Sensei Plan, up to 3 MacsBilled annually$29 a yearSource7 November 2026
Sensei License, up to 3 MacsOne time purchase$59 onceSource7 November 2026

macleanup's own prices are on Plans and allowance.

WhatSenseimacleanup
Clears cachesYesSourceYesSections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsYesSourceYesSection 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYesSection 12.
Uninstalls appsYesSourceYesSection 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapNot stated on the pages we checkedPartialA text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to useNot stated on the pages we checkedYesThe command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedNot stated on the pages we checkedNoNot notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartialThe command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.