Skip to main content

Moving from MacKeeper

macleanup replaces one part of MacKeeper: the cleanup. Antivirus, the VPN, adware blocking and breach monitoring have no counterpart here. Sort those out first if you rely on them, and only then change your subscription.

What maps to what​

In MacKeeperIn macleanup
Junk files and unused apps--profile minimal and section 21
Uninstaller with leftover removalSections 21 and 12
Antivirus, VPN, adware blocking, identity monitoringNothing
24/7 chat supportGitHub issues

Move across​

  1. Run the safe batch as a preview. The command line needs no account.

    npx macleanup --dry-run --all
  2. Save the preview so you can read it slowly.

    npx macleanup --dry-run --all --no-color > ~/Desktop/macleanup-preview.txt
  3. Preview apps you have not opened in 100 days, the default.

    npx macleanup --only 21 --dry-run
  4. Run one section for real, not the whole batch.

    npx macleanup --only 8

Section 8 takes only your own top-level temp files at least two days old, and it deletes them directly. A backup is the way back.

The facts, dated​

Last checked . Check MacKeeper yourself

MacKeeper planPriceSource
1-month plan, 1 MacBilled every month$10.95 a monthSource7 November 2026
12-month plan, 1 MacFirst-year price shown with a discount; the page states subsequent payments of $95.40 annually$71.40 a yearSource7 November 2026
12-month plan, 3 MacsFirst-year price shown with a discount; the page states subsequent payments of $119.40 annually$89.40 a yearSource7 November 2026

macleanup's own prices are on Plans and allowance.

WhatMacKeepermacleanup
Clears cachesNot stated on the pages we checkedYesSections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsNot stated on the pages we checkedYesSection 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsYesSourceYesSection 12.
Uninstalls appsYesSourceYesSection 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapNot stated on the pages we checkedPartialA text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to usePartialThe Free column shows cleanup limited to one week or one time.SourceYesThe command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedYesSourceNoNot notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartialThe command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.