Skip to main content

Moving from DaisyDisk

macleanup has no map. If you like seeing the whole disk as a sunburst, keep DaisyDisk: the two do different jobs and run happily on one Mac. macleanup's reports are text, and its cleanup sections go after the caches, logs and leftovers you would otherwise hunt down by eye.

What maps to what​

In DaisyDiskIn macleanup
The sunburst disk mapSection 26, folder sizes as text
Spotting the largest filesSection 18, everything from 500 MB up in $HOME
Deleting a big file you choseSection 24, large and untouched, moved to the Trash

Move across​

  1. Ask where the disk went. Both sections are reports and delete nothing.

    npx macleanup --only "18,26"
  2. Read the dated .txt files in ~/.macleanup/reports/.

  3. Preview the big, old files. Both the access and the change date must be old, so a large file you opened recently will not appear. Section 18 shows those.

    npx macleanup --only 24 --large-file-size-gb 2 --large-file-days 180 --dry-run
  4. Preview what a map never labels for you: caches, logs and temp files.

    npx macleanup --profile minimal --dry-run

The facts, dated​

Last checked . Check DaisyDisk yourself

DaisyDisk planPriceSource
Mac App Store editionThe vendor's own site states a one-time licence fee for the stand-alone edition but shows no figure on the pages we checked$9.99 onceSource7 November 2026

macleanup's own prices are on Plans and allowance.

WhatDaisyDiskmacleanup
Clears cachesNot stated on the pages we checkedYesSections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsNot stated on the pages we checkedYesSection 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYesSection 12.
Uninstalls appsNot stated on the pages we checkedYesSection 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapYesSourcePartialA text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to usePartialFree trial: you can browse the map; deleting needs the paid app.SourceYesThe command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedYesSourceNoNot notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartialThe command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.