Moving from CleanMyMac
CleanMyMac does the deciding in one window; macleanup shows you the paths and asks section by section. Keep CleanMyMac installed while you try this. Nothing below touches it.
What maps to what
| In CleanMyMac | In macleanup |
|---|---|
| Old caches and logs | Sections 5 and 7, or --profile minimal |
| Xcode junk | Section 1 |
| Uninstalling an app with its leftovers | Section 21 for idle apps |
| Leftovers from apps already gone | Section 12 |
| Malware scanning, software updates, performance tools | Nothing. macleanup only cleans |
Move across
-
See the sections and pick by number.
npx macleanup --list -
Preview the weekly sweep. This one leaves Trash alone.
npx macleanup --profile minimal --dry-run -
Read the paths, then see what apps left behind.
npx macleanup --only 12 --dry-run -
Run one section for real and read the report in
~/.macleanup/reports/.npx macleanup --only 5 -
Want a window? The desktop app runs the same script. Its plans count real runs only; previews stay free.
Section 5 sweeps ~/Library/Caches, which macOS and your apps refill. Read
the limits of a preview
before step 4.
The facts, dated
Last checked . Check CleanMyMac yourself
| CleanMyMac plan | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 1 Mac, annualStore shows a coupon applied; discounts apply to the first year only | $39.95 a year | Source7 November 2026 |
| 1 Mac, monthly | $9.95 a month | Source7 November 2026 |
| 1 Mac, one time | $119.95 once | Source7 November 2026 |
macleanup's own prices are on Plans and allowance.
| What | CleanMyMac | macleanup |
|---|---|---|
| Clears caches | YesSource | YesSections 3, 5 and 19. |
| Clears logs | YesSource | YesSection 7. |
| Finds orphan files from removed apps | YesSource | YesSection 12. |
| Uninstalls apps | YesSource | YesSection 21, moved to the Trash. |
| Disk usage map | Not stated on the pages we checked | PartialA text report from section 26. No visual map. |
| Free to use | PartialThe download is free. The pages do not state what runs without a plan.Source | YesThe command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit. |
| Mac App Store or notarised | YesSource | NoNot notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store. |
| Open source | Not stated on the pages we checked | PartialThe command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private. |