Skip to main content

Moving from BuhoCleaner

There is no one-tap clean here, on purpose. Flash Clean's place is taken by a preview you read and a confirmation you give. That is slower, and it tells you what is about to go.

What maps to what​

In BuhoCleanerIn macleanup
Flash Clean--all, the safe batch of sections 0, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9, 15, 18, 22, 26
Xcode cache cleanerSection 1
Flush DNS cacheSection 20, which also renews DHCP on en0
Uninstall with leftoversSections 21 and 12
Disk space analyserSection 26, as text
Menu bar RAM, CPU and fan monitorNothing

Move across​

  1. Preview what the safe batch would do.

    npx macleanup --dry-run --all
  2. Read the honest limits of a preview.

  3. Run the batch and answer each prompt.

    npx macleanup --all
  4. Writing software? Preview the Xcode section separately. It is not in --all.

    npx macleanup --only 1 --dry-run

The facts, dated​

Last checked . Check BuhoCleaner yourself

BuhoCleaner planPriceSource
1 Year Subscription, 3 MacsSale price; the store shows $39.99 struck through$17.99 a yearSource7 November 2026
Lifetime LicenseSale price; the store shows $67.99 struck through$25.99 onceSource7 November 2026
10 Macs, LifetimeSale price; the store shows $189.99 struck through$69.99 onceSource7 November 2026

macleanup's own prices are on Plans and allowance.

WhatBuhoCleanermacleanup
Clears cachesYesSourceYesSections 3, 5 and 19.
Clears logsNot stated on the pages we checkedYesSection 7.
Finds orphan files from removed appsYesSourceYesSection 12.
Uninstalls appsYesSourceYesSection 21, moved to the Trash.
Disk usage mapYesSourcePartialA text report from section 26. No visual map.
Free to useNot stated on the pages we checkedYesThe command line has no limit. The app has a Free plan with a monthly run limit.
Mac App Store or notarisedYesSourceNoNot notarised by Apple and not on the Mac App Store.
Open sourceNot stated on the pages we checkedPartialThe command line is MIT and public. The desktop app source is private.